Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Scholarships and Awards

UGA ScholarsChristopher Henry Vaught Scholarship in Science Policy

updated March 2023
This scholarship is available to support highly motivated undergraduate students in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, or other life sciences, to engage in Science Policy research as a part of the Fall and Spring UGA Washington Semester Program. Applicants are evaluated based on review of 500-word, typed personal statement indicating why you wish to participate in the program in the area of science policy, resumé, academic transcripts, and an interview. Typically, one award is made annually. This program is made possible on account of the generosity of Drs. Jim Vaught and Irene Glowinski, who reside in the Washington D.C. area.
For more information, please contact:

Dr. Amy Medlock or

Dr. Chris West


Application deadline: After acceptance from Washington Program

  • 2018 Award Recipient: Ashleigh Proctor
  • 2020 Award Recipient: Sarah Yount
  • 2021 Award Recipients: Sarah Yount and Payton Johnson


BMB Undergraduate Academic and Research Excellence Awards

Updated March 2023
The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is pleased to announce two BMB Faculty Awards for academic and research excellence, to be presented to outstanding BMB undergraduate student majors each year.

Faculty nominations are due March 1, and should be sent to the Head of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology. The nomination shall include a letter of recommendation and the student’s curriculum vitae and current transcript. Nominations will be reviewed by the Undergraduate Coordinator Professor Adams, Professor Emeritus Dan DerVartanian, and the BMB Undergraduate Committee, who will submit their recommendations to the Head who will make the final decision. The awards will be presented at the Spring Graduation.

1. The BMB Faculty Award for Academic Excellence

This award has been funded by the generosity of BMB Emeritus Professors Dan DerVartanian, Claiborne Glover, and Alan Przybyla. The award includes a certificate and $300 in cash.

Past Awardees:

  • 2018 Award Recipient: Hailey Elizabeth Clark (mentor: Dr. Paula Lemons)
  • 2019 Award Recipient: Trisha Dalapati (mentor: Dr. Julie Moore)
  • 2020 Award Recipient: Rajashri Manjunath (mentor: Dr. Bob Haltiwanger)
  • 2021 Award Recipient: Emma Grace Tucker (mentor: Dr. Bob Haltiwanger)
  • 2022 Award Recipients: Oleksandra (Sasha) Stogniy (mentors: Dr. Paula Lemons, Dr. Fikri Avci), Ishan K. Vaish (mentor: Dr. Ying Xu)

2. The Sisodia-Patel Prize for Research in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
(beginning 2020)

The purpose of this award is to recognize a graduating senior for his or her outstanding research as an undergraduate majoring in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology. The recipient will be planning a career in research and attending graduate school in the coming year. Recipients shall be selected by the faculty of the Department and will be recognized at graduation. The award will include a certificate and a cash award of $1000. This prize has been funded through the generosity of Dr. Sangram S. Sisodia, who earned his Ph.D. degree in the department, and honors his mentor, Professor Gordhan Patel. Dr. Sisodia is currently the Thomas A. Reynolds Sr. Family Professor of Neurobiology at the University of Chicago.

This award was previously funded by BMB Professors Emeriti as the BMB Faculty Award for Research Excellence.

Past Awardees:

  • 2018 Award Recipient: John Christopher Sugar (mentor: Dr. Mike Adams)
  • 2019 Award Recipient: Nikita Vantsev (mentor: Dr. Mike Terns)
  • 2020 Award Recipient: Tiffany N. Hicks Sirmans (mentor: Dr. Zac Wood)
  • 2021 Award Recipient: Landon M. Clark (mentor: Dr. Michael Terns)
  • 2022 Award Recipients: Elisabeth A. Lampros (mentor: Dr. Adam Barb), Alexandria M. Jefferson (mentor: Dr. David Forgacs)
  • 2023 Award Recipient: Philip A. Schroeder (mentor: Dr. Lance Wells)

2023 Presidential Award of Excellence

Philip Schroeder, member of Dr. Lance Wells’ lab, and Christina James, member of Dr. Nadja Zeltner’s lab, were recipients of the 2023 Presidential Award of Excellence. This award is given to undergraduate students in their final year of study who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, strong extracurricular involvement, and/or service to and involvement in their respective school or college.

2023 Barry Goldwater Scholar Award

Emilio Ferrara, a Biochemistry major in Dr. Terns’ lab, has been named a 2023 Barry Goldwater Scholar, earning the highest undergraduate award of its type for the fields of mathematics, engineering, and natural sciences. He is also a Foundation Fellow and Stamps Scholar in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and the Morehead Honors College. Emilio plans to pursue a doctorate in biomedical sciences and research the next generation of curative genetic medicines for rare diseases.

2023 Professor Emeritus Dan DerVartanian Award for outstanding academics of a graduating senior

The 2023 BMB Professor Emeritus Dan DerVartanian Award for Outstanding Academics of a Graduating Senior went to Elizabeth L. Lane, a double major in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Psychology with an emphasis in Neuroscience. Her research mentor was Dr. Neil Grimsey in the Department of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Science in the College of Pharmacy. She graduate with a GPA of 3.98 and spent many semesters conducting research in lab with CURO support. She has already secured a position as a Research Specialist at Emory University.

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.